top of page

292. Exploring Morality in the Five Pillars of Islam and William Search's Theory of Existence


This blog post is based on the theory that the reason why humans exist is due to morality, as theorized by William Search in his books "Why" and "Conversations with ChatGPT: Exploring the Theory of Morality and Existence." Drawing from the ideas presented in these books, we will examine how the Five Pillars of Islam, the central practices of this faith, interrelate with the development of morality and contribute to a deeper understanding of human existence.

The Five Pillars of Islam and Their Moral Significance

The Five Pillars of Islam, which comprise the foundation of a Muslim's faith and actions, consist of the following:

  1. Shahada - the declaration of faith in the unity of God and the prophet Muhammad

  2. Salat - the daily prayers

  3. Zakat - the practice of charitable giving

  4. Sawm - fasting during the month of Ramadan

  5. Hajj - the pilgrimage to Mecca

These practices, akin to the core principles of other religions, aim to instill a strong moral compass in the believers. Each pillar fosters virtues such as compassion, self-discipline, and a sense of connection with the divine - all crucial for developing moral character.

The Role of Zakat in Moral Development

Zakat, one of the Five Pillars, purifies an individual's wealth by redistributing a portion of it to those in need. This act of charitable giving cultivates virtues like generosity, compassion, and gratitude, thus contributing to the development of a strong moral character. By promoting social justice and equality, Zakat ensures a more equitable distribution of resources within the community, thus fostering Islamic values and principles.

Sawm: The Path to Spirituality and Moral Living

Sawm, another Pillar of Islam, entails fasting from food, drink, and physical pleasures during daylight hours throughout the month of Ramadan. By practicing self-control, mindfulness, and gratitude, Muslims can connect more profoundly with God. Fasting teaches self-discipline and self-awareness, empowering individuals to regulate their desires and impulses.

Additionally, Sawm fosters empathy and compassion by offering a glimpse into the struggles faced by others. This practice allows Muslims to lead a more moral life by nurturing virtues and qualities essential for compassionate living. Furthermore, it strengthens their connection with God, providing guidance for moral decision-making and action.


In light of William Search's theory of morality and existence, examining the Five Pillars of Islam offers a rich perspective on the interrelation between religious practices and the development of moral character. By adhering to these core principles, Muslims can cultivate virtues such as compassion, self-discipline, and spirituality, thus leading a more moral life. Understanding the connection between Islamic principles and moral living can provide valuable insights into the moral foundations of human existence.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page